Dosha Types


Prakruti vs. Dosha

There are three dosha types in Ayurveda: vata, pitta and kapha. The word “dosha” doesn’t have a perfect translation; however, when most people think of what their dosha is, they are thinking of their Prakruti. In Ayurveda, Prakruti refers to your individual inherent nature or constitution that determines your physical, physiological and mental character as well as disease vulnerability. Prakruti is often referred to as your “dosha” or as your “mind/body type.”

Your Prakruti is genetically determined and remains unaltered during our lifetime. Your Prakruti is the unique combination of the 3 doshas of Vata, Pitta and Kapha that were present in your body at the time of your birth. The doshas are the primary life forces in the body and each of us possesses all 3 dosha in our physical and psychological makeup.


Dosha Types

There are 10 different Prakruti combinations or dosha types. Roughly 75% of people are dual-doshic, 20% are mono-doshic, and 5% are tri-doshic.

  1. Vata

  2. Pitta

  3. Kapha

  4. Vata/Pitta

  5. Pitta/Vata

  6. Vata/Kapha

  7. Kapha/Vata

  8. Pitta/Kapha

  9. Kapha/Pitta

  10. Vata/Pitta/Kapha.



  • Elements: air & ether (space)

  • Taste: sweet, salty & sour

  • Qualities: dry, light, cold, rough, subtle, mobile, clear

  • Locations: colon, pelvis, thighs, ears, bones, skin, head, throat, and diaphragm

  • Functions: all physical movement; movement of thoughts, feelings and nerve impulses; communication; respiration; heart function; peristalsis; elimination; hearing; touch; clarity; creativity; enthusiasm

  • Causes for Provocation: over eating; staying up late at night; talking too much; excessive physical work or exercise; eating too much pungent, bitter, astringent foods; worrying and excess thinking; frequent fasting; eating cold foods; fall/autumn season; suppression of natural urges


  • Elements: fire & water

  • Taste: sweet, bitter & astringent

  • Qualities: oily, sharp, hot, light, liquid

  • Locations: bellybutton, sweat glands, blood, eyes, skin, intestine, liver, gallbladder, spleen, gray matter of brain

  • Functions: metabolism; digestion, absorption & assimilation; body temperature; appetite; thirst; taste; color and luster of skin, eyes and hair; eyes & visual perception; intelligence; courage; ambition; discrimination and reasoning; sensitivity and reactivity; bravery; transformation; controls digestive and endocrine systems

  • Causes for Provocation: pungent, acidic/sour & salty foods; hot food; spicy foods; alcohol; tobacco; heat & sun exposure; anger; strenuous work; eating before previous meal is digested; summer and late spring


  • Elements: water & earth

  • Taste: pungent, bitter & astringent

  • Qualities: oily, heavy, slow/dull, cold, liquid, slimy/smooth, dense, soft, static

  • Locations: lungs, stomach, pancreas, white matter of brain, cerebrospinal fluid, nose, tongue, chest, fat tissue

  • Functions: groundedness; lubrication; nourishment; growth; electrolyte balance; fat regulation; memory retention; strength & stamina; contentment; forgiveness; resilience; support & stability; sleep; repair & regeneration; compassion; taste and olfactory (smell) perception; immunity

  • Causes for Provocation: sleeping during the day; eating sweet, salty & sour foods, cold, oily, sticky foods; meats & fish; dairy; overeating; winter & early spring

Schedule an Ayurvedic Consultation with us to determine your dosha and receive a comprehensive list of Ayurvedic recommendations.